Get up & Get Moving

Get up & Get Moving

pexels-photo-medium-1

I’m tired. Like all the time. Makes doing productive tasks really hard.

PERSONAL STORY TIME: my goal for the year of 2017 (my junior year) is to graduate. I really want to get out of school so I can focus on where I want to go next with dance (which as of right now my long term goal is to end up in Texas) and not have to worry about papers being due and the stressful afternoons trying to solves questions like, 9 + 10, which I could’ve sworn was 21…guess not.

Anyways, back to the main topic. I’m always tired. Which leads to laziness, which follows in procrastination, which concludes in not getting anything done. I seriously need a butt load of motivation to do all the things I need to do.

Now what is motivation? it’s one action split into three steps: activation, intensity, and perseverance. Achieving what needs to be achieved requires all three. 
Alright, now that I’ve pointed out the obvious, that you need motivation to do this thing called life, let me get into how you find it and how you put it into action.


pexels-photo-medium

Unfortunately, tasks such as paperwork, chores, errands, etc. take much willpower. Sometimes even rewards to get it done. However, most of the time nothing will get done because of that little devil called procrastination. First step you got to take is eliminating all your excuses and motivations will soon follow. 

One thing that stops you from taking action on a task is the fear of failing. Pretty positive you won’t succeed every time you do something. So if I ever have to do something that’s bigger than folding a load of laundry or running to trader joes I remind myself, “You will always fail before you succeed.” Don’t ever let the fear of failure wash away your motivation to do great things. 

What about the times you just don’t feel like doing anything & you’re too tired? Well…why do you think there is that holy beverage called COFFEE. I love coffee. It helps me. It can help you too. Drink some and allow the motivation to swim down your throat with every sip of coffee you take. BUT in all seriousness…here’s what you should do: figure out the time of day you’re most productive. early in the morning, smack dead in the afternoon, or the evening. Once you’ve figured that out you plan your day around the time you’re most productive. This is where my bullet journal comes in handy. My productive time is the morning. I’ll get up with sun, drink some coffee, and write out what I have to do for that day. Sometimes I even get on a roll and end up planning the following three days. Just experiment and figure out the best way for you to plan your day where you can get everything you need done complete. 

IMG_4161

Another way to get yourself up and moving is a nice workout. Taking care of your body physically can do a great deal for you!!

Then there’s the problem of not knowing where to start. If you struggle with that problem then here’s what you should do. Start with a simple to do list. Prioritize your tasks from most important to least and start knocking them off one by one. It’s not as hard as you think…


pexels-photo-93835-medium.jpeg

One thing you should never do is give up. Keep making new goals and reaching for your dreams. 

Great things come out of having motivation. 

“Dreams get you started. Discipline keeps you going.” – Jim Rohn

· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·· · ·

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed and got something out of it. If you have your own way of getting yourself motivated let me know in the comments! 

∼ Kerri Anne

Leave a comment