Philippians 4:13

Philippians 4:13.

“I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me.”

This is such a well-known verse to people. Athletes are known to use this verse to help them get through their rough game/practices, you will see it multiple times on shirts, keychains, etc & people will tend to use this verse to give them power to accomplish a tough task or to defeat the enemy.

BUT does anyone really know what this verse means? Why it was written? Who it was written by and the reasons for him writing? What situation was the author in when it was written? I definitely did not know any of that until about a week ago when I was enlightened (have you noticed that this is my favorite word? I use it quite a lot in these blogs)  by a fantastic pastor of mine. (His name is John Ware & he’s the youth pastor at Bethel Church)

The Apostle Paul is the one who wrote Philippians & to understand what this passage actually means we have to read the verse in its context.

Lets take a look at the verses that surround the one I’m talking about today.

10 How I praise the Lord that you are concerned about me again. I know you have always been concerned for me, but you didn’t have the chance to help me. 11 Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. 12 I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. 13 For I can do everything through Christ, [d] who gives me strength.

Philippians can also be called, “Recourses through Suffering.” This book is about our strength + our goals being in Christ, for Christ to be in our lives & mind, & to be joyful in times of suffering.

 Paul stated (in the verses above) that he learned to live with everything & nothing at all, with food & without food, & in any situation good or bad. I could imagine it’s a challenge living with hardly anything. Especially when it comes to food & money. I have been so blessed all my life to always have food in my fridge & pantry. I’ve also been blessed with money in the times that I needed it most. (I also have wonderful parents who buy me things when I have burnt a hole in my wallet because of the liquid drug called coffee in which you get at Starbucks. It literally takes all the bucks from me. okay, sorry for being stupid. moving on.) However, life isn’t that sweet. There will be times where you will have nothing. B U T  living on nothing will not be so hard because you can do all things through christ who strengthens you.

Paul was a very courageous man who was given many opportunities to do momentous things for the Kingdom of God. However, like everyone, Paul had somewhat of a troubled side.  Back then preaching the Gospel was “unlawful” & before he became a Christ follower he would kill and imprison Christians because he thought they were blaspheming God & what was written in the Old Testament. Then he was actually placed in prison because he preached the Gospel. He even wrote this book from Prison.

Paul definitely lost a lot & gained a lot. He was, at points in his life (like stated earlier in the blog), poor. Then at other points he was wealthy and had everything he could ever ask for. He never knew what place or situation in life he would be in. Though whatever path God set him on he could walk until the end because he could do all things through Christ who strengthened him.

If he was rich, he could handle it

If poor, he could handle it

In ANY situation (good or bad) he could handle it. and ( . .bout to get real cheesy here. . ) so can you.

So what are you facing right now? Are you in a good season in your life? Bills are paid, you have great kids, & you don’t dread going over to your in-laws? If so, great! Lucky you. . .  Or are you in a bad season? You’re out of your job, bills aren’t paid, and your in-laws are the last people on this earth you want to see but you can get away from them? Obviously, I’m being idiotically funny for some parts of this but in all seriousness. . .Whatever it is, good bad, & ugly. .It’s nothing you can’t handle….because you can do all things through Christ!

∼ Kerri Anne

Leave a Reply

